Snapchat First: 2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards Announce Winners Through Artists’ Snapchat Acceptance Speeches

Snapchat First: 2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards Announce Winners Through Artists’ Snapchat Acceptance Speeches

Winners’ Snaps Also Appeared During the Live Broadcast on TBS, TNT and truTV

NEW YORK, N.Y. and BURBANK, Calif. – March 6, 2017 – For the first time ever the 2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards announced winners of several award categories through artists’ Snapchat Stories over the weekend. Artists snapped their 10-second acceptance speeches, which appeared on iHeartRadio’s Discover channel, the “iHeartRadio Music Awards Acceptance Speeches” Live Story, and were televised during the live broadcast on Sunday, March 5 on TBS, TNT and truTV at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT live from the historic Forum in Los Angeles.

The following artists snapped their acceptance speeches for the below awards: 
•    Rihanna – R&B Album of the Year and R&B Song of the Year for “Work” featuring Drake
•    The Chainsmokers – Best New Pop Artist
•    Chance The Rapper - Best New Hip-Hop Artist
•    Bryson Tiller – Best New R&B Artist 
•    twenty one pilots - Alternative Rock Artist of the Year, Alternative Rock Song of the Year for “Heathens” and Alternative Rock Album of the Year
•    Green Day – Rock Song of the Year for “Bang Bang”
•    5 Seconds of Summer – Best Song from a Movie for “Girls Talk Boys” (Ghostbusters) 
•    Disturbed – Rock Artist of the Year
•    Metallica – Rock Album of the Year 
•    Kelsea Ballerini – Best New Country Artist
•    The Strumbellas – Best New Rock / Alternative Rock Artist 

For a full list of performers, presenters and highlights from the 2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards, visit

Fans can follow the latest news on the awards including winners and major highlights on iHeartRadio’s Snapchat Discover channel as well as

Proud partners of the 2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards include Bioré® Skincare, Chase, Coors Light®, eBay, ICE BREAKERS, Taco Bell, Saban’s Power Rangers, The All-New 2017 Subaru Impreza® and T-Mobile.

The iHeartRadio Music Awards were produced by iHeartMedia and Den of Thieves.  Executive Producers for iHeartMedia are John Sykes, Tom Poleman and Lee Rolontz.  

About iHeartMedia

With over a quarter of a billion monthly listeners in the U.S. and over 129 million social followers, iHeartMedia has the largest national reach of any radio or television outlet in America. As the leader in multiplatform connections, it also serves over 150 local markets through 858 owned radio stations, and the company’s radio stations and content can be heard on AM/FM, HD digital radio, satellite radio, on the Internet at and on the company’s radio station websites, on the iHeartRadio mobile app, in enhanced auto dashes, on tablets, wearables and smartphones, and on gaming consoles.

iHeartRadio, iHeartMedia’s digital radio platform, is the fastest growing digital audio service in the U.S. and offers users thousands of live radio stations, personalized custom artist stations created by just one song or seed artist and the top podcasts and personalities. With over 1.7 billion downloads, iHeartRadio reached 110 million registered users faster than any other radio or digital music service.

iHeartMedia’s platforms include radio broadcasting, online, mobile, digital and social media, podcasts, personalities and influencers, live concerts and events, syndication, music research services and independent media representation. iHeartMedia is a division of iHeartMedia, Inc. (PINK: IHRT). Visit for more company information.